Just Agree to Disagree. It’s Easier.

There’s so many things I disagree with. My best friend and I disagree on so many levels people sometimes wonder how we have stayed so tight. But disagreeing isn’t a bad thing. Disagreeing can start a conversation. A debate. It can get different opinions and sometimes facts out on the table and make people think about the other side of an argument or opinion.

Personally I love not agreeing with someone. Although I do believe there is a right and wrong way of disagreeing.

Wrong Way:

  • Pushing your opinion on to someone else.
  • Trying to convince someone YOU are right.
  • Getting offended over a disagreement because it’s not in your favor.

Right Way:

  • Listen.
  • Explain why you disagree.
  • Understand that disagreements are based on opinion..

I do like a good discussion based on disagreeing with someones opinion. I think that’s why I love my best friend so much. We’ve had some pretty heavy debates that have got rather heated but usually one of us will pull out before we end up screaming. My favorite line is:

“Look, I love you but we’re gonna have to agree to disagree as usual. I get where you’re coming from though”

And she’ll usually reply with.

“Awwww, I love getting your angry”

The disagreements I have with my best friend is different to the ones I have with my fiancé or even my family.

With my fiancé it’s more of a “NO!!! I DON’T THINK SO” They’re more immature. If we disagree about food or what to watch on TV it’s usually the same sort of response. Fortunately, there’s not a lot of things we disagree with so I’m lucky in that respect.

With my family: if you disagree you shut up. That’s basically it. And that’s probably the worst thing to do.

You can really learn a lot by disagreeing and talking about it. There’s always two sides. In the end someone is right in their own head. You just have to smile and nod. I find that works best.

d3c2f7142d2d6ead6bd0068b48dc770d

 

Disagree

2 thoughts on “Just Agree to Disagree. It’s Easier.

Leave a Reply

