One Nail In The Coffin

Yesterday I made a decision to go to the police and give a statement against the person who did something to me many many years ago. I was encouraged to do it by my family and friends. But I did it more for my sister who found herself in the same position not so long back.

After almost 2 hours of sitting, waiting, talking and listening, I’m now in a position where I have to decide whether or not to go further and press charges.

We were explained the process. We talked to the police and gave our story of what happened. Then we were given the option to come back in and give another statement but recorded. If we go ahead and do that then potentially this issue will go to court. My sister was told she wouldn’t need to physically attend a hearing because of her age however because of my age I will need to go in and talk. That makes me nervous. Very nervous.

I was told this could also be a year before a trial is even called to court (if it even gets to that point).

I secretly have no faith that anything will come of this. And it’s putting me off.

For someone who the police know of and has a very long history of criminal behavior, this person has never been held accountable for their actions. Even when faced with police and court they just get off and can go on with their life. It’s crazy.

I don’t know.

I honestly don’t know at the moment.

The police were to call me today but instead messaged me apologizing for not calling me when they said they would. I haven’t messaged back.

My sister definitely wants to go further though. She was ready to give a recorded statement last night. I think my hesitation on the matter put the cops off and they suggested we give ourselves a couple days to think things over.

I suppose that’s what I’ll do.

Welcome 2017!!

pedos-pedos-everywhere

Leave a Reply

